Anti Ragging Policies

Constitution of Anti-Ragging Committee – 2022

The Government of West Bengal has enacted Anti Ragging Law, “West Bengal Prohibition of Ragging in Educational Institutions Act 2000” to prevent ragging at the Educational Institution. Further, the Government has directed all Heads of educational institution of the State to form Anti Ragging Committee to implement strictly and punish the students indulging in ragging activities stringently as per the provision of the law.

The Supreme Court in its order, dated the 16th May 2007, has ordered a crackdown on ragging on campuses across the country. The court made it compulsory for Colleges and other educational institutions to register FIRs and said exemplary punishment should be awarded to offenders, so that it acts as deterrent.

In pursuance of the above orders and directives, an Anti-Ragging Committee is hereby reconstituted as per AICTE norms for the academic year 2022 – 2023 with the following members:

Sl. No. Name Designation Status in Anti-ragging Committee Contact No.
1. Prof. (Dr.) Sutapa Mukherjee Principal, BPPIMT Chairperson 90510 99052
2. Mr. Santanu Sarkar OIC, Baguiati P.S. Member, (Police Administration) 9147889475
3. Mr. Rantideb Sengupta Journalist, Bartaman Member (Local Media) 98363 89171
4. Mr. R. K. Ghosh President, Green World, Ichapur, Howrah – 711 104 Member (NGO) 98748 56778
5. Mr. Biplab Das Parent Member – (Parent) 9434212299
6. Ms. Aparna Ghosh Professional Counselor Member 98304 35480
7. Dr. Rupa Pal Associate Professor, BPPIMT, Co-ordinator Member 98317 12644
8. Mr. Amlan Ray Chaudhuri Assistant Professor, BPPIMT, Dy. Co-ordinator Member 98301 59326
9. Dr. Ananya Kanjilal Associate Professor & HOD,CSE, BPPIMT Member 96742 84109
10. Dr. Ivy Majumdar Associate Professor & HOD,ECE, BPPIMT Member 94338 53964
11. Dr. Nandita Sanyal Associate Professor & HOD, EE, BPPIMT Member 98300 73184
12. Dr. Sabnam Sengupta Associate Professor & HOD, IT, BPPIMT Member 94330 76680
13. Dr. Ranjana Goswami Associate Professor & HOD, Appl. Sc. & HU, BPPIMT Member 99031 85157
14. Dr. Inadyuti Dutt Assistant Professor & Dept. Incharge, MCA ,BPPIMT Member 9831013925
15. Mr. Arup Ratan Bera STA, BPPIMT Member 98304 89819
16. Ms. Randhrita Sarkar, 4th Yr. IT Student Member 7980773303
17. Ms. Shrestha Paul, 4th Yr. EE Student Member 8582903154
18. Ms. Megha Kumari 4th Yr. CSE Student Member 7546842329
19. Mr. Kanchan Tantubay 3rd Yr. CSE Student Member 6295606449
20. Mr. Pratik Gardi , 3rd Yr. ECE Student Member 9135019223
21. Mr. Chandrima Pal, 4th Yr, ECE Student Member 8777357621
22. Dr. K. Prabakaran Dy. Registrar — BPPIMT Member 90078 98255
23. Dr. Subhasish Pradhan Registrar (Actg.) — BPPIMT Member 90514 47144

Additional members including representatives from B.Tech and MCA students may be inducted as may be required. The Committee will function with immediate effect.

The Functions, Duties and Responsibilities :

Power of the Committee has been elaborately stated and explained in the Act. The Committee will commence its functioning with immediate effect to prevent occurrence/recurrence of incidence of ragging throughout the academic year 2022 – 2023. Any case of ragging within the premises of the Institute as well as its authorized hostels will come under the purview of the Committee in case of emergency, Founder Trustee & Chief Mentor / Principal / Registrar (Actg.) / Co-ordinator & Deputy Co-ordinator may be contacted on Phone Nos. as given below :

Chief Mentor : 98310 31310
Principal : 90510 99052
Registrar (Actg.) : 90514 47144
Co-ordinator, Anti-ragging Squad : 98317 12644
Deputy Co-ordinator, Anti-ragging Squad : 98301 59326